Tuesday, July 1, 2008

Garibaldi and Italy

Reading a piece (Garibaldi's Gift, by David Gilmour) in the New York Review of Books about Garibaldi, came across these facts: After Napoleon fell, Italy was composed of 8 states:

Duchy of Parma
Duchy of Modena
Duchy of Lucca
Grand Duchy of Tuscany
Bourbon Kingdom of Two Sicilies (Sicily and Naples)
Kingdom of Lombardy-Venetia (part of Hapsburg Empire)
Kingdom of Piedmont-Sardinia (Torino capital): Piedmont, Genoa, Savoy
Papal States

No comments:

Post a Comment